THE HISTORY OF THE SAINT-TROPEZ YACHT CLUB

First a dinghy sailing activity of the Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez, before becoming "UST Voile", this section moved to Les Canoubiers, a marvelous site particularly well suited for learning and practicing this sport.

Hosted in "temporary" premises, the Club will benefit from the equipment that we know today, in 1979, ... there have been some "developments" since!

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Family atmosphere around a main activity: school and competition on "optimist". Without forgetting 4.20, Laser, even a caravel, a 5.0.5, restored by practitioners of the time, windsurfing, etc.

However, meteorology did not wait for the climate to change to offer its outbursts of all kinds, its outbursts in behavior. The human being is like that, passionate, which sometimes makes him radical to lead him to blindness damaging to the smooth running of an association.

However, the results are there. Athletes and leisure enthusiasts alike recognize themselves in an "apparently" relaxed atmosphere.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

And yet, in the course of 2015, it seems opportune to merge the UST Voile with the Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez, a return to basics?

No, the motivations are elsewhere and multiple. Let us remember that it was a great opportunity to bring together "all" Sailing under the same flag and to allow a new development of this activity in Saint-Tropez.

The "UST Voile" Association is dissolved, in favor of the "Pôle Voile Légère" created by the Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez by taking over all the resources, both material and human, of the UST Voile within its organization.

The Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez has become a "Grand Club", according to the criteria of the French Sailing Federation, with more than 800 licensees. There is no shortage of events, in particular the "Voiles de Saint-Tropez, the late Nioulargue, which is the major event on the calendar.

Prestigious partners provide real support for the Club. Beyond the necessary and important financial support, it is also an accompaniment to strive for excellence.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

But the commitment, for some, does not end there.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Having become a partner of Voiles de Saint-Tropez, by developing a clothing collection in the name of the event, Peter Dubens, businessman, Tropezian at heart, often present in Saint-Tropez where he owns a property and who also practices dinghy sailing in Les Canoubiers, wishes to see this activity develop, in competition, in particular on sailboats equipped with foils.

This is how he will acquire two 20-foot foiling catamarans, which he will make available to the Pôle Voile Légère. These two sailboats, which cannot be put in the hands of everyone, will navigate mainly in the Gulf of Saint-Tropez.

But Peter's commitment doesn't end there.

The site, which houses the Light Sailing Pole, must be a place of excellent leisure, conviviality, meetings, a haven of peace for the Members of the Nautical Society.

Among the services offered by UST Voile in its day was a snack bar around which Members could meet.

Organized in the "good franquette" style, run by young people, with simple dishes, the concept appealed even if the rules applying to such practices were not always followed to the letter.

Take up this concept but by giving ourselves the necessary means, such was the proposal of Peter Dubens. It meant :

  • Offer a framework integrated into the existing one but with a comfort that Members would appreciate,

  • Have technical installations that meet current standards,

  • Offer a service in relation to the new framework, by having people, both in the kitchen and in the service.

  • Offer other services to meet Members' requests and expectations

 

During an inaugural evening at the start of the 2018 season, everyone was able to appreciate the quality of the work and commitments made:

  • The terrace,

  • The open loggia,

  • The furniture,

  • The kitchen area.

  • Space

 

It was natural to think that all these arrangements, entirely financed by Peter Dubens, became an integral part of all the existing buildings, apart from the kitchen space, the installation of which was ephemeral. It was also quite natural, for those who know him, that this approach did not include any contractual counterparts apart from a "certain" recognition.

 

The 2018 season is unfolding according to the principles envisaged but this does not suit everyone, including some neighbors who are surprised at the somewhat long evenings, especially as a generator also runs in the evening to provide energy. necessary for kitchen facilities

 

And a volley of green wood fell on everyone, the directors of the Nautical Society, the Mayor of Saint-Tropez and a few others too, no doubt, without forgetting Mr. Peter Dubens whose motives were misunderstood or deliberately interpreted. .

Mistakes were made, it's true, but did everything have to be broken? Not to mention the facilities! In any case, not only.

 

As if that were not enough, at the beginning of autumn 2018 the Managers of the Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez decided to no longer support the light sailing activity. Taking note of this decision, the form of which was questionable, the members involved, children, parents, practitioners, employees for this activity, find themselves deprived.

The Mayor of Saint-Tropez, anxious to maintain the Light Sailing activity in Saint-Tropez, is considering several solutions. It is that of a new association, the Yacht Club de Saint-Tropez, which will ultimately prevail.

We are at the end of November 2018.

The former President of the Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez is approached to set up this association with the help of the Director of the Light Sailing Pole.

 

The Yacht Club of Saint-Tropez

 

It was first necessary to overcome the obstacles and red tape to create the Association. Didn't we have to wait for a structure, baptized with the same name, Yacht Club de Saint-Tropez, an empty shell of meaning and activities, to be dissolved at the end of our intervention before we could file a file admissible at the Prefecture.

 

The birth of the Yacht Club de Saint-Tropez will be formalized on January 17, 2019

 

For the new Board of Directors, made up of Founding Members, the main short-term objectives were simple to state:

  • Create and maintain the jobs of 4 people,

  • Relaunch activities,

  • Prepare for the 2019 summer season.

 

As with any business, in addition to the will and commitment of those who drive it, financial resources are an important factor and condition for success.

The first provisional budget shows that the only resources, consisting of:

  • Of the Municipal Grant, even significant,

  • Membership contributions, as numerous as reason has led us to imagine,

  • Seasonal activities, however lucrative they may be and estimated at a reasonable amount given, in particular, the 2018 experience,

will not suffice to satisfy the first requirement in the long term.

We need to find financial partners.

 

At the beginning of January 2019, a financial package was put in place with the creation of an external, private company, the initial capital of which is made up of a contribution from the partners behind the approaches and actions of last year.

Among the resources of this company are the retention of members paying a substantial contribution, the collection of rent payable by the Yacht Club, and determined according to the number of visitors to the activities offered. (Catering, fitness, others)

If the principles were similar to those of the previous year, the means put in place and the responsibilities fell entirely to the Yacht Club of Saint-Tropez, thus guaranteeing the control of the activities and a strict control of the quality of members to access the facilities. and catering structures in particular.

The assembly was likely to ensure serenity within the teams, the employment contracts had been signed, especially since at the same time the commitments:

  • with the Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez guaranteed:

    • payment of salaries during the transitional period,

    • the spread of the payment for the recovery of specific equipment, acquired during the existence of the Pôle Voile Légère, and belonging to the Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez

  • of the City of Saint-Tropez for the payment of a substantial subsidy.

 

Everything was going for the best, but it was without counting the reactions of well-thinking souls, undoubtedly inhabited by a kind of "conspiratorial" phobia, imagining shell companies to smoke up reality. They doubtless think of winning a battle: weary war the people targeted withdraw.

 

"Calumny! Sir, you hardly know what you despise; I have seen the most honest people close to being overwhelmed by it; believe that there is no base wickedness, no horrors, no absurd tale that one does not make adopt to the idlers of a big city, by taking it well ... First a light noise, skimming the ground like a swallow before the storm ... such mouth collects it, and, piano, piano, skilfully slips it into your ear; the damage is done: it germinates, it crawls, it walks, and, rinforzando, from mouth to mouth, it goes the devil; then suddenly, do not know how, you see calumny rise up, hiss, swell, grow visibly; it soars, extends its flight, whirls, envelops, snatches, entrains, bursts and thunders, and becomes a general cry, a crescendo public, a universal chorus of hatred and proscription "

( Pierre Augustin Caron de BEAUMARCHAIS , The Barber of Seville. Act II, scene 8)

 

But it was also without taking into account the determination of the direct actors of the Yacht Club of Saint-Tropez, the generosity of those questioned, the unwavering support of the Municipality, to take up the challenge.

 

Ensuring "sailing" activities is of course essential, all managers and instructors, Olivier, Florian, Bastien, Pascal, Marine, will do their utmost!

 

Maintain the reception framework created the previous year: investments financed privately will be preserved, both infrastructure and furniture without counterpart.

 

Ensure catering appreciated by all: the arrival of Franck and Jean-Pierre, who will not count their time, will be the icing on the cake. A snack bar is open, with a renovated kitchen. The help of a few young people from the Club, with a smile, will help to provide unexpected service.

 

Not only the essential is assured but ambitious projects are envisaged, such as the merger with the Yacht Club of Monaco, a sports project on supports with foils, always attractive. (there it was without taking into account the events of 2020, causing the whole to be put to sleep, but that's another story)

 

The results at the end of the season are more than satisfactory.

Calm has returned and proof provided, if necessary, that the destination of the Canoubiers Sailing School has not been diverted.

It remains nonetheless true that, from the beginning of the autumn, we know that the financial resources, despite rigorous management, will not make it possible to settle the remaining charges, salaries, suppliers, the first deadline for the payment of the recovery of material.

 

Once again it was without counting on our Benefactor Members, the Municipality, our bank, the local Crédit Agricole ..

 

John Elkann and Peter Dubens are still there!

Crédit Agricole grants us a loan under "favorable conditions!"

The Municipality buys the equipment from the Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez to make it available to us and assures us of the allocation of a grant for 2020 equivalent to that of 2019 (this commitment is also a pledge for Crédit Agricole )

 

So, to close 2019 and this first chapter in the history of the Yacht Club de Saint-Tropez and to sum up our gratitude with just one word:

 

THANK YOU

 

Thank you to all those who made it possible to stay the course despite a few gales.

The road is still long, the 2020 events, as for everyone, are not likely to be completely serene but we must be confident, the Baie des Canoubiers is beautiful, the Yacht Club of Saint-Tropez has its place there, and its Members, together, will be able to spend wonderful moments there

L'HISTOIRE DU YACHT CLUB DE SAINT-TROPEZ

D'abord activité voile légère de la Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez, avant de devenir "UST Voile", cette section s'installe aux Canoubiers, site merveilleux et particulièrement bien adapté pour l'apprentissage et la pratique de ce sport.

Hébergé dans des locaux "provisoires" le Club bénéficiera des équipements, que l'on connaît aujourd'hui, en 1979, … il y a eu depuis quelques "évolutions" !

Ambiance familiale autour d'une activité principale : école et compétition sur "optimist". Sans oublier 4.20, Laser, même une caravelle, un 5.0.5, remis en état par des pratiquants de l'époque, planche à voile, etc.

Pour autant, la météorologie n'a pas attendu l'évolution du climat pour offrir ses coups de colère de tous ordres, ses débordements dans les comportements. L'être humain est comme cela, passionné, ce qui le rend parfois radical pour le conduire à des aveuglements dommageables au bon déroulement d'une association.

Il n'empêche que les résultats sont là. Sportifs comme pratiquants du loisir se reconnaissent dans une ambiance "apparemment" détendue.

Et pourtant, dans le courant de l'année 2015, il apparaît opportun de fusionner l'UST Voile à la Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez, un retour aux sources ?

Non, les motivations sont ailleurs et multiples. Retenons que c'était une belle opportunité de regrouper "toute" la Voile sous un même pavillon et de permettre un nouvel essor de cette activité à Saint-Tropez.

L'Association "UST Voile" est dissoute, au profit du "Pôle Voile Légère" que crée La Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez en reprenant l'ensemble des moyens tant matériels qu'humains de l'UST Voile au sein de son organisation.

La Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez est devenue un "Grand Club", selon les critères de la Fédération Française de Voile, avec plus de 800 licenciés. Les manifestations ne manquent pas, en particulier les "Voiles de Saint-Tropez, la feue Nioulargue, qui constitue l'évènement majeur du calendrier.

Des partenaires prestigieux apportent un véritable soutien pour le Club. Au-delà d'un soutien financier nécessaire et important c'est aussi un accompagnement pour tendre vers l'excellence.

Mais l'engagement, pour certains, ne s'arrête pas là.

Devenu partenaire des Voiles de Saint-Tropez, en développant une collection de vêtements au nom de l'évènement, Peter Dubens homme d'affaires, tropézien de cœur, souvent présent à Saint-Tropez où il y possède une propriété et qui pratique par ailleurs la voile légère aux Canoubiers, souhaite voir se développer cette activité, en compétition, en particulier sur des voiliers équipés de foils.

C'est ainsi qu'il fera l'acquisition de deux catamarans de 20 pieds, à foils, qu'il mettra à la disposition du Pôle Voile Légère. Ces deux voiliers, qui ne peuvent pas être mis entre les mains de tout le monde, navigueront essentiellement dans le Golfe de Saint-Tropez.

Mais l'engagement de Peter ne s'arrête pas là.

Le site, qui abrite le Pôle Voile Légère doit être un lieu de loisir d'excellence, de convivialité, de rencontres, un havre de paix pour les Membres de la Société Nautique.

Parmi les services qu'offrait l'UST Voile en son temps figurait un snack bar autour duquel pouvaient se retrouver les Membres.

Organisé à la "bonne franquette", tenu par les jeunes, avec des plats simples, le concept plaisait même si les règles s'appliquant à de telles pratiques n'étaient toujours respectées à la lettre.

Reprendre ce concept mais en se donnant les moyens nécessaires, telle a été la proposition de Peter Dubens. Cela voulait dire :

  • Offrir un cadre intégré à l'existant mais avec un confort qu'apprécieraient les Membres,

  • Disposer d'installations techniques répondant aux normes en vigueur,

  • Offrir un service en rapport avec le nouveau cadre, en disposant de personnes, tant en cuisine qu'au service.

  • Offrir d'autres services pour répondre aux demandes et attentes des Membres

 

Lors d'une soirée inaugurale, en début de saison 2018, chacun a pu apprécier la qualité des travaux et engagements réalisés :

  • La terrasse,

  • La loggia ouverte,

  • Le mobilier,

  • L'espace cuisine.

  • L'espace

 

Il était naturel de penser que tous ces aménagements, entièrement financés par Peter Dubens, devenaient une partie intégrante de l'ensemble des bâtiments existants, hormis l'espace cuisine dont l'installation était éphémère. Il était aussi tout naturel, pour ceux qui le connaissent, que cette démarche ne comprenait pas de contreparties contractuelles hormis une "certaine" reconnaissance.

 

La saison 2018 se déroule selon les principes envisagés mais cela ne convient pas à tout le monde, y compris quelques voisins qui s'étonnent de soirées un peu longues, d'autant qu'un groupe électrogène tourne aussi le soir pour fournir l'énergie nécessaire aux installations de la cuisine

 

Et une volée de bois vert s'abat sur tous, les dirigeants de la Société Nautique, Monsieur le Maire de Saint-Tropez et quelques autres aussi, sans doute, sans oublier Monsieur Peter Dubens dont les motivations ont été mal comprises ou interprétées à dessein.

Des erreurs ont été commises, c'est vrai, mais fallait-il tout casser ? Sans parler des installations ! En tous les cas pas seulement.

 

Comme si cela ne suffisait, au début de l'automne 2018 les Dirigeants de la Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez décident de ne plus prendre en charge l'activité Voile légère. Prenant acte de cette décision, dont la forme était discutable, les membres impliqués, enfants, parents, pratiquants, employés pour cette activité, se retrouvent dépourvus.

Monsieur le Maire de Saint-Tropez, soucieux de maintenir l'activité Voile Légère à Saint-Tropez envisage plusieurs solutions. C'est celle d'une nouvelle association, le Yacht Club de Saint-Tropez qui prévaudra finalement.

Nous sommes fin novembre 2018.

L'ancien Président de la Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez est pressenti pour mettre sur pieds cette association avec l'aide du Directeur du Pôle Voile légère.

 

Le Yacht Club de Saint-Tropez

 

Il a d'abord fallu franchir les obstacles et tracasseries administratives pour créer l'Association. N'a-t-il pas fallu attendre qu'une structure, baptisée du même nom, Yacht Club de Saint-Tropez, coquille vide de sens et d'activités, soit dissoute à l'issue de notre intervention avant de pouvoir déposer un dossier recevable en Préfecture.

 

La naissance du Yacht Club de Saint-Tropez sera officialisée le 17 janvier 2019

 

Pour le nouveau Conseil d'Administration, composé de Membres fondateurs, les objectifs principaux à court terme étaient simples à énoncer :

  • Créer et maintenir les emplois de 4 personnes,

  • Relancer les activités,

  • Préparer la saison estivale 2019.

 

Comme pour toute entreprise, outre la volonté et l'engagement de ceux qui l'anime, les ressources financières constituent un facteur et une condition importante pour réussir.

Le premier budget prévisionnel fait apparaître que les seules ressources, constituées :

  • De la Subvention Municipale, même significative,

  • Des cotisations des Membres, aussi nombreux que la raison nous a amené à imaginer,

  • Des activités saisonnières, aussi lucratives qu'elles soient et estimées à un montant raisonnable compte tenu, en particulier, de l'expérience 2018,

ne suffiront pas à satisfaire la première exigence dans la durée.

 

Nous devons trouver des partenaires financiers.

 

Début janvier 2019, un montage financier est mis en place avec la création d'une société extérieure, privée, dont le capital initial est constitué d'un apport des partenaires à l'origine des démarches et actions de l'an passé.

Parmi les ressources de cette société figurent, la fidélisation de membres s'acquittant d'une cotisation substantielle, la perception d'un loyer à la charge du Yacht Club, et déterminé en fonction de la fréquentation aux activités offertes. (Restauration, fitness, autres)

Si les principes s'apparentaient à ceux de l'année précédente, les moyens mis en place et les responsabilités incombaient entièrement au Yacht Club de Saint-Tropez garantissant ainsi la maîtrise des activités et un contrôle strict de la qualité de membres pour accéder aux installations et structures de restauration en particulier.

Le montage était de nature à assurer la sérénité au sein des équipes, les contrats de travail avaient signés, d'autant qu'en même temps les engagements :

  • avec la Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez garantissaient :

    • le règlement des salaires pendant la période transitoire,

    • l'étalement du règlement de la reprise du matériel spécifique, acquis pendant l'existence du Pôle Voile Légère, et appartenant à la Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez

  • de la Ville de Saint-Tropez pour le versement d'une subvention conséquente.

 

Tout allait pour le mieux, mais c'était sans compter les réactions d'âmes bien pensantes, sans doute habitées d'une espèce de phobie "complotiste", imaginant des sociétés écran pour enfumer la réalité. Ils pensent sans doute gagner une bataille : de guerre lasse les personnes visées se retirent.

 

"La calomnie ! Monsieur, vous ne savez guère ce que vous dédaignez ; j'ai vu les plus honnêtes gens près d'en être accablés ; croyez qu'il n'y a pas de plate méchanceté, pas d'horreurs, pas de conte absurde qu'on ne fasse adopter aux oisifs d'une grande ville, en s'y prenant bien... D'abord un bruit léger, rasant le sol comme une hirondelle avant l'orage... telle bouche le recueille, et, piano, piano, vous le glisse en l'oreille adroitement ; le mal est fait : il germe, il rampe, il chemine, et, rinforzando, de bouche en bouche, il va le diable ; puis tout à coup, ne sais comment, vous voyez la calomnie se dresser, siffler, s'enfler, grandir à vue d'œil ; elle s'élance, étend son vol, tourbillonne, enveloppe, arrache, entraîne, éclate et tonne, et devient un cri général, un crescendo public, un chorus universel de haine et de proscription"

(Pierre Augustin Caron de BEAUMARCHAIS, Le Barbier de Séville. Acte II, scène 8)

 

Mais c'était aussi sans compter la détermination des acteurs directs du Yacht Club de Saint-Tropez, la générosité des mis en en cause, le soutien indéfectible de la Municipalité, pour relever le défi.

 

Assurer les activités "voile", c'est bien sûr l'essentiel, l'ensemble des cadres et moniteurs, Olivier, Florian, Bastien, Pascal, Marine, mettra les bouchées doubles !

 

Maintenir le cadre d'accueil créé l'année précédente : les investissements financés en privé seront préservés, tant l'infrastructure que le mobilier sans contrepartie.

 

Assurer une restauration appréciée de tous : l'arrivée de Franck et Jean-Pierre, qui ne compteront pas leur temps, sera la cerise sur le gâteau. Un snacking est ouvert, avec une cuisine rénovée. L'aide de quelques jeunes du Club, avec le sourire, contribuera à offrir un service inattendu.

 

Non seulement l'essentiel est assuré mais des projets ambitieux sont envisagés, tel le rapprochement avec le Yacht Club de Monaco, un projet sportif sur des supports à foils, toujours attractifs. (là c'était sans compter sue les évènements 2020, entraînant la mise en sommeil de l'ensemble, mais c'est une autre histoire)

 

Le bilan en fin de saison est plus que satisfaisant.

Le calme est revenu et la preuve apportée, s'il le fallait, que la destination de l'Ecole de Voile des Canoubiers n'a pas été détournée.

Il n'en reste pas moins vrai que, dès le début de l'automne, on sait que les ressources financières, malgré une gestion rigoureuse, ne permettront pas de de régler les charges restantes, salaires, fournisseurs, première échéance du règlement de la reprise du matériel.

 

Une fois de plus c'était sans compter sur nos Membres Bienfaiteurs, la Municipalité, notre banque, le Crédit Agricole local..

 

John Elkann et Peter Dubens répondent encore présents !

Le Crédit Agricole nous consent un prêt dans des conditions "avantageuses !

La Municipalité rachète le matériel à la Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez pour le mettre à notre disposition et nous assure de l'attribution d'une subvention pour 2020 équivalente à celle de 2019 (c'est engagement est aussi un gage pour le Crédit Agricole)

 

Alors, pour clore 2019 et ce premier chapitre de l'histoire du Yacht Club de Saint-Tropez et résumer à outrance notre reconnaissance un seul mot :

 

MERCI

 

Merci à tous ceux qui ont permis de tenir le cap malgré quelques coups de vent.

La route est encore longue, les événements 2020, comme pour tout le monde, ne sont pas de nature à être complètement sereins mais nous devons être confiants, la Baie des Canoubiers est belle, le Yacht Club de Saint-Tropez y a sa place, et ses Membres, ensemble, pourront y passer des moments merveilleux